Angaston, SA - Uniting (30339)

Year Built: 1861

Denomination: Uniting

Address: Corner Fyfe & Sturt Street, Angaston, South Australia, 5353

See Street View

Send your photos

Click on the image to view larger

History and Architecture:

Formerly a Congregational church the first church was a red brick chapel built in 1861 at the rear of the current church.

The foundation stone of this church was laid by Mr J H Angas Esq J.P. on 13 May 1878. It cost 2162.00. It is of Gothic Revival style with bluestone walls and rendered dressings. The leadlight windows were shipped from England. The vestry building stands beside and to the back of this church.


Years Name Annotation
1863 - Rev John Gibson C


The first organ was installed in 1889 at a cost of 150.00. It was later sold to the Whyalla Methodist Church. The current organ came from Draper Memorial Methodist Church in Adelaide. It was built in 1908 and installed in its present location in 1943.