Bendigo, VIC - St John's Presbyterian

Year Built: 1890

Denomination: Presbyterian

Saint: John

Address: 35 - 41 Forest Street, Bendigo, Victoria, 3550

Architect: W.C. Vahland

Traditional Owners: Dja Dja Wurrung people

Last Updated: 22/02/2024

See Street View

Send your photos

Click on the image to view larger (2 photos)

History and Architecture:

St. John's Presbyterian Church was opened in 1874 and located in Forest Street near the Barnard Street. By 1885 the Church was destroyed by fire. A new Church building was opened in 1897 on the same site.

A Foundation stone was laid in November 1858 by Rev L.D. Bevan.

In 1949 plans were prepared for the demolition of the church and the erection of a third church building on the same site when an offer to purchase the former Congregational Church (on the corner of Forest and Mackenzie Streets,) was accepted. The building, which had most recently been used by the Wesleyan Methodists and had been designed by Architect W C Vahland.

A wall plaque reads, " This Church became the property of the Uniting Church of Victoria in July 1977 and was purchased and re opened to the Glory of God for Presbyterian worship on 6th October 1985. Moderator Rev Arthur Stamp MA BD Minister Rev J.E. Webster BA LTh".

For more history click on the link



This list may not contain every serving cleric, past or present, for this church.
Further submissions welcomed.

Years Name Annotation D.o.B D.o.D
1918 - 1925 Rev W Bennett
1926 - 1935 Rev Douglas A MacKenzie
1935 - 1943 Rev C. H. Ball
1944 - 1946 Rev R J. Williams
1947 - 1952 Rev J. E Smith
1952 - 1955 Rev D G. McKenzie
1955 - 1960 Rev J. W. Beecher
1962 - 1975 Rev H V. Jenkin
1976 - 1977 Rev J G. Evans
1978 - 1983 Rev A Pegler
1985 - 1995 Rev J. E Webster
1995 - 2005 Rev A.M. Clarke
2007 - Rev Philip J Burns
2018 - Rev Keith Bell


No information currently available. Submissions welcomed.


In good faith, list of Clergy from the Church's own web site