Camberwell, VIC - St John's Anglican

Denomination: Anglican

Saint: John

Address: 552 Burke Road, Camberwell, Victoria,

Architect: Unknown

Traditional Owners: Wurundjeri people

Last Updated: 31/01/2022

See Street View

Send your photos

Click on the image to view larger

History and Architecture:

The first church opened on 8 February 1863, but Anglican worship in Camberwell began in 1856 in the home of Mr. James Price in what is now Burke Road. Mr. Price, who was later known in family memory as a lay reader at St John's, possibly conducted the first worship himself.

The following year, the first church, then known simply as the 'Church of England at Camberwell'' opened for worship. Services in the new church - a small brick building in the Gothic style - were still conducted from Hawthorn.

The foundation stone of the church was set in the north wall of the north transept, and may now be seen in the Porch below the tower and spire. It was officially laid by the Hon. Sir J. Clarke on December 19th, 1887. The inscription read as follows:— THIS MEMORIAL STONE WAS LAID By THE HON. SIR W. J. CLARICE, BART, ON DECEMBER, 191h, 1887 - Heath, Jackson & Gray Architects - Campbell & Wilson contractors- Rev. A. w. Creswell M.A. Incumbent

The attendance at the laying of the foundation stone was good and included the following clergy: The Ven. Archdeacon Stretch and the Revs. A. W. Cresswell, H. Taylor, T. H. Armstrong, J. Dawson and J. Fairbrother.

For a complete history of the church go to the Church website here.


This list may not contain every serving cleric, past or present, for this church.
Further submissions welcomed.

Years Name Annotation D.o.B D.o.D
1863 - 1866 Rev W. Wood From Hawthorn
1865 - Rev Matthew Martin Curate 1865 to 1867
1868 - 1873 Rev Charles Stuteville Isaacson 1840 1911
1873 - 1912 Rev Arthur William Cresswell 1839 1915
1904 - 1905 Rev William John Geer 1877 1941
1910 - Rev Rawdon Atkinson Blackman 1868 1926
1912 - Rev Charles Elliott Perry 1871 1937
1918 - 1919 Rev Edward Ernest Robinson Curate 1889 1975
1922 - 1923 Rev Charles Herbert Murrary Curate 1899 1950
1934 - 1938 Rev Reginald Fenwick Brown 1887 1960
1962 - 1977 Rev Thomas Russell Hope Clark 1912 1998
2018 - Rev John Baldock


No information currently available. Submissions welcomed.


1. Church website
2. Cable Clergy Index.
3. History of St John's Camberwell MacDougal LH 283.9451