Carcoar, NSW - Church of the Immaculate Conception Catholic

Year Built: 1870

Denomination: Roman Catholic

Address: Collins Street, Carcoar, New South Wales, 2791

Architect: Edward Gell

Last Updated: 21/04/2023

See Street View

Send your photos

Click on the image to view larger (3 photos)


History and Architecture:

Constructed in 1870 the Church boasts a slim stone bellcote and spire and retains its original cooling system, which was cleverly created by wall cavities through which cooler air passed into outlets in the window sills.

A letter to the Editor of the Freemans Journal of 11 March 1871 paints an inspired description of the church and reads,

The Church is designed in the style which prevailed daring the early part of the 13th century, and, although intended to be enlarged by the addition of transepts, Chancel, Lady Chapel and Sacristy, when required, is, in effect, complete at present. The arches provided for such future extensions are walled in, and the gables carried up, giving considerable importance to the composition. Rubble masonry in irregular courses with freestone jambs, quoins, weatherings, has been used, and the general character of the building is solidity and quaintness with a picturesque effect. The nave (60 x 24) is entered at the north-west angle through an open porch with seats on both sides. Its arch is trefoilheaded surmounted by a stone cross.

The west end contains two lancet windows, with a large circular window in the gable. The buttresses at the south. west angle are cobled out, and support an open bell turret with spirulet and ornamental gilt cross at the top.

The bell weighs 5 cwt, of good ton, and was cast by Meagher and Son, Bathurst, reflecting very highly on that establishment. The roof is open timbered of hardwood dressed, stopped, chamford, and varnished. The principals are of novel design, simple and effective. Messrs. Hardman, of Birmingham, supplied the windows.

Clergy:

This list may not contain every serving cleric, past or present, for this church.
Further submissions welcomed.

Years Name Annotation D.o.B D.o.D
2021? - Father Paul Davitt Administrator
2022 - Father Timothy Cahill

Organ:

The Organ was built c.1890 by Alfred Kirkland of London. It has 1m., 4 sp.st., pedal pulldowns, tr., hand-blown. The organ was opened at services held on 26 July, 1891, with organist, clergy and choir travelling from both Bathurst and Orange.
A full description and photos can be seen here.

Source:

1. TROVE The Freemans Journal 11 March 1871
2. Organ Historical Trust of Australia with permission.