Coburg, VIC - Wesleyan Methodist (former)

Year Built: 1857

Denomination: Wesleyan Methodist

Address: 512 Sydney Road, Coburg, Victoria, 3058

Architect: T.J. Crouch

Architectural Style: Gothic Early English

Traditional Owners: Wurundjeri people

Last Updated: 21/02/2024

See Street View

Send your photos

Click on the image to view larger (2 photos)

History and Architecture:

The oldest Methodist Church in Victoria and the first built of blue stone.

On 5th August 1857, a foundation stone for a church was laid, designed by T.J. Crouch. A sealed bottle containing the following record was placed in the stone cavity beneath the corner stone together with a copy of Argus and Herald of the day:

"This stone was laid as the foundation stone of the Pentridge Wesleyan Methodist Chapel by the Honourable Nehemiah Gutheridge Esq: MLC on the 5th day of August 1857 being the one and twentieth year of the reign of Her Most Gracious Majesty Queen Victoria. His Excellency Sir Henry Barkly, Knt, Governor of this Colony of Victoria; Rev J.A. Manton, President of the Conference; Rev. D.J. Draper, Chairman of the District; Rev Harrison Waddington, Superintend of the Pentridge Circuit.


This list may not contain every serving cleric, past or present, for this church.
Further submissions welcomed.

Years Name Annotation D.o.B D.o.D
1912 - 1913 Rev Robert H. Green And Brunswick
1913 - 1915 Rev Arthur G. Adamson And Brunswick
1935 - 1938 Rev Frederick C. Ivory
1938 - 1943 Rev Alfred W. Guy
1945 - 1950 Rev Pearce B. Barber
1946 - 1951 Rev Thomas H. Indian
1951 - 1956 Rev Alexander G. Day
1956 - 1962 Rev Reginald A. Hunter
1962 - Rev Eric Griffin


No information currently available. Submissions welcomed.


1. Methodist Church of Australasia Ministerial Index