Dalby, QLD - St John's Anglican (50086)

Year Built: 1922

Denomination: Anglican

Saint: John

Address: 153 Cunningham Street, Dalby, Queensland, 4405

Last Updated: 02/01/2021

See Street View

Send your photos

Click on the image to view larger

History and Architecture:

The Foundation stone was laid by the Right Honourable H.W.B. Forster of Lepe on 29 August 1922.

St John's Church, Dalby is a brick church constructed in 1922-1923 to the design of Harry Marks and is the third church of this name on the site. The previous timber church, built in 1876, remained on the site in a modified form as part of a former parish hall, until it was demolished in February 2003. The site of St John's Church is part of a continuing tradition of Anglican worship established during the first years of European settlement on the Darling Downs, which began in 1840.**

The Reverend John Gregor visited the area, holding services in camps and private homes from 1840 until his death in 1848. The energetic Reverend Benjamin Glennie succeeded him and his first service on the Downs was held in the parlour of the Bull's Head Inn at Drayton in 1848, there being no church. On 25 May 1851, Glennie held the first service in the Dalby area in the home of Hugh Ross. From then on, regular services were held in such diverse venues as private homes, a woolshed and the courthouse.**

The building is aligned on a northwest-southeast axis but this description treats this axis as the west-east liturgical axis, e.g. the northwest elevation is regarded as the west for liturgical purposes. St John's Church stands prominently to the corner of Cunningham and Drayton Streets, Dalby and is set within extensive grounds. An elegant composition in the Gothic revival idiom, the building is sheltered by a steeply pitched roof clad with fibrous cement shingles and the buttresses and external walls are of brown facebrick embellished with white cement copings and mouldings. Cruciform in plan, the transept accommodates a clergy vestry and a choir vestry and the west end a baptistery flanked by entrance porches. The nave is lit by lancet windows five of stained glass and one of coloured glass to the north and two of stained glass and two of coloured glass to the south. Both vestries are lit by lancet windows of coloured glass. Circular lights are over the external entrances to the vestries and oval lights decorate the internal doorways from these spaces the light over the south entrance now without its coloured glass. Internally, these windows are embellished with plain hood moulds**.


This list may not contain every serving cleric, past or present, for this church.
Further submissions welcomed.

Years Name Annotation D.o.B D.o.D
1886 - 1889 Rev Vinoy Robson Handyside 1854 1899
1892 - 1896 Rev Walter Phillips 1861 1944
1896 - 1899 Rev Charles Kingsley Cole 1865 1943
1903 - Rev Zenas Albert Higgins 1876 1946
1904 - 1911 Rev William Powning Glover 1875 1961
1908 - 1910 Rev George Neal Curate 1881 1971
1910 - 1913 Rev Alfred William Gilbert Curate 1871 1936
1912 - 1914 Rev Charles Hall 1881 1945
1914 - Mr John Spencer Booth Reader 1890 1958
1915 - 1916 Rev Frederic Harry Higgins Curate 1878 1949
1917 - 1919 Rev John Parrington Parker Curate 1947
1920 - 1922 Rev Frederick Thomas Palmer Curate 1890 1975
1922 - Rector B P Walker
1923 - 1925 Rev Edward Oreton Curate 1854 1930
1923 - 1956 Rev Frank Knight 1889 1964
1934 - 1935 Rev Reuben Athelstane Foote Curate 1910 1994
1938 - 1946 Rev Christopher Leeke 1883 1968
1946 - 1949 Rev Jack Dudley Hunter Curate 1909 1984
1965 - 1970 Rev Alan Challes Haysom 1909 2000
1968 - 1972 Rev K A. McQueen Asst
1980 - 1982 Rev A. K Moore Asst
1984 - 1985 Rev Kenneth David Hopper 1952
1994 - 1996 Rev M.G. Kelly
2013 - Rev Tom Bower


No information currently available. Submissions welcomed.