East Melbourne, VIC - Holy Trinity Lutheran

Year Built: 1852

Denomination: Lutheran

Address: Corner Parliament & Cathedral Place, East Melbourne, Victoria, 3002

Architect: Charles Blachmann

Traditional Owners: Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung & Bunurong Boon Wurrung people

Last Updated: 27/04/2024

See Street View

Send your photos

Click on the image to view larger

History and Architecture:

In 1852, a site was granted for a church at 22-36 Parliament Place, East Melbourne by Governor La Trobe.

The original 1853 structure was built by William Hellings to the specifications of architects Bellairs, Krsteiner & Co and was replaced in 1874 by a bluestone church, designed by Charles Blachmann, which houses an historic organ.

Built by Henry Goedeke, the church comprises clerestoried nave, aisles and apsidal chapel, a panelled timber ceiling and foliated column capitals.

The Church is built in the Victorian period in the Neo-Gothic style, and today is classified by the National Trust (B2664). One of the most prominent parishioners was Baron Ferdinand von Mueller, the well-known botanist and director of the Melbourne's Botanic Gardens.

The bluestone hall was built as an extension to the original church in 1864 as a weekly and Sunday school. It was designed by Friedrich Kawerau and constructed by M Wolter and Wilhelm Finger who were members of the congregation.

The two storey brick and stucco manse which incorporates Gothic motifs onto a typical Italianate composition, was built in 1890 by H Kaiser jnr to the design of noted architect J A B Koch. It replaced the original 1855 manse which was constructed of corrugated iron. The manse was used as a pastor's residence until 1981 and is now used as offices for the German Lutheran Church.


These names are now in the Database and can be searched individually.

Years Name Annotation D.o.B D.o.D
1853 - 1867 Pastor G Goethe IS
1868 - 1914 Pastor Hermann Herlitz UELCA 1940
1914 - 1923 Pastor K E. Gutekunst UELCA
1923 - 1944 Pastor F Frank IS
1935 - 1964 Pastor Ewlad Steiniger IS 1901 1964
1941 - 1947 Pastor J. G. Simpfendoerfer IS
1947 - 1951 Pastor P A. Scherer IS
1951 - 1954 Pastor H O.E. Steiniger IS
1960 - 1966 Pastor G Klein IS
1964 - 1974 Pastor Ernst Seyler IS
1975 - 1982 Pastor Waldemar Kostizen IS
1981 - 1990 Pastor J Schulz Wackerbarth LCA
1982 - 1991 Pastor Johannes Achilles LCA
1991 - 2000 Pastor Rolf Ortwein LCA
2001 - 2009 Pastor Joachim von Mitzlaff LCA
2010 - Pastor Matthias Kunze LCA
2023 ? - Pastor Kim Kiessing LCA


The Organ was built in 1874 by Robert Mackenzie. It was rebuilt in 1939 by Hill, Norman & Beard. Rebuilt again in 1967 by Geo Fincham & Sons. It has 2m, 22spst, 10c, elpn. Gt: Sw: Ped:


1. Lutheran Archives with permission.
2. Organ Historical Trust of Australia with permission.