Enfield Sefton Park, SA - Uniting

Denomination: Uniting

Address: 2 Park Street, Enfield Sefton Park, South Australia, 5083

Previous Denomination: Methodist

Architect: Unknown

Traditional Owners: Kaurna people

Last Updated: 18/11/2021

See Street View

Send your photos

Click on the image to view larger

History and Architecture:

Formerly a Methodist Church. The seeds that brought the Enfield Uniting Church into fruition were sown around 1853 when the Rev. D.J. Draper, from the Pirie Street Wesleyan Methodist Church, asked Mr. William Short, then aged 33 years, if he would conduct services in his home at California Street, Nailsworth as there was no Wesleyan Methodist Church in the whole district.*

The first church was built on the southern corner of Park Street and North Road, Enfield Park. The foundation stone of this Wesleyan chapel was laid on Monday, 9th October, 1854 by Mr A. Forster.

The chapel was opened for Divine worship on Sunday, 25th February, 1855 on which occasion sermons were preached to large congregations by the Revs. Thrumm, Dare and S. Williams.

The second church, at Enfield, was erected on the northern corner of Park Street and North Road, Enfield Park. On the 3rd February, 1881. The foundations were put in in December, 1884. Stone from the Stockade was carted by Mr. Donnon while Messrs. William Lox, J. Williams, J. Ragless and B. Capper voluntarily carted gravel from the river.

Services to celebrate the opening of the new Wesleyan Methodist Church at Enfield were conducted on Friday, 10th September, 1886 and on Sunday and Monday, the 12th and 13th.

In 1934, the Prospect Circuit was divided into three circuits. Enfield with Kilburn became a separate Circuit with the Rev. L.M. Humphrey as Minister. In the same year it became necessary for the Trustees to provide a manse for the minister of their new circuit. A house, at the eastern corner of Park and Emilie Streets was purchased and a room added, the whole costing 825. This building became the home of Mr Humphrey and succeeding ministers for 29 years.


This list may not contain every serving cleric, past or present, for this church.
Further submissions welcomed.

Years Name Annotation D.o.B D.o.D
1920 - Mr J. B. Butler M
1931 - 1934 Rev L. G. Menadue M
1934 - 1940 Rev Louis Morton Humphery M.A. - more details M 1894 1970
1937 - 1941 Rev Darcy E. Dickson M
1940 - Rev Darcy E. Dickson M
1941 - 1945 Rev Edwin A. Pederick M
1945 - 1948 Rev George H. Pemberton M
1950 - 1955 Rev Stanley T. Harper M
1955 - 1957 Rev Donald N. Fuller M
1955 - 1960 Rev Mervyn C. Trenorden M
1960 - Rev Guthrie C. Hutchinson M
1960 - Rev Vivian R. Secombe M 1932 2004
1961 - Rev Horace H. Dunkin M 2010
1961 - Rev Brian W. Kelley M
2018 - Rev Alan Biglow U
2020 - Rev Dianne Holden U


No information currently available. Submissions welcomed.


1. Methodist Church of Australasia Ministerial Index