Gawler, SA - Uniting

Year Built: 1850

Denomination: Uniting

Address: 21 Tod Street, Gawler, South Australia, 5118

Previous Denomination: Wesleyan Methodist

Architect: Unknown

Traditional Owners: Kaurna people

Last Updated: 22/03/2023

See Street View

Send your photos

Click on the image to view larger

History and Architecture:

The first church was built in 1850 and that building still functions as the “Corner Shop” Opportunity shop. The church was quite small, 13.9m [40ft] by 7.6m [25ft], and seating 140 people.

Constructed of hammer-dressed shale set on a cement-rendered plinth, the church is symmetrical about the central entrance of the south-facing facade. It is of Gothic style, with lofty proportions and steeply pitched, slate-clad roof.

Facades are characterised by red brick surrounds to pointed arch openings, Gothic derived cement- rendered pinnacles, bell tower to gable apex, paired lancets, Gothic arcading, rose window and main entrances flanked by layered moulded brick surrounds. The interior is severely austere and so contrasts dramatically with the exterior. Gawler's first Wesleyan Church was built in 1850. This building succeeded it in 1869.


This list may not contain every serving cleric, past or present, for this church.
Further submissions welcomed.

Years Name Annotation D.o.B D.o.D
1914 - 1917 Rev George T. Arthur M
1921 - 1924 Rev Leslie D. Rooney M
1924 - 1927 Rev Stanley H. Dorman M
1929 - 1932 Rev Clement W.G. Smith M
1932 - 1935 Rev John H. Crossley M
1944 - 1946 Rev Eric J. Tregilgas M
1946 - 1950 Rev Wilfred S. Statton M
1952 - 1957 Rev Alwyn R. Broadbent M
1957 - 1962 Rev Thomas C. Patrick M
1961 - Rev Ray D. Haynes M
1962 - Rev Clement W.G. Smith M
2011 - Rev Barry Littleford U
2017 - Rev Joseph Scherer U


Built in 1925 by W.L. Roberts. It has 2m, 17spst, 7c, Gt: Sw: Ped: Rebuilt and enlarged in 1964 by L.S. Waters. Rebuilt again in 1990 by George Stephens.

A full description and photos can be seen here.


1. Methodist Church of Australasia Ministerial Index
2. Organ Historical Trust of Australia