Gisborne, VIC - St Brigid's Catholic

Year Built: 1855

Denomination: Roman Catholic

Saint: Brigid

Address: Aitken Street, Gisborne, Victoria, 3437

Architect: Unknown

Traditional Owners: Wurundjeri people

Last Updated: 03/03/2023

See Street View

Send your photos

Click on the image to view larger

History and Architecture:

In 1855 Father Madden was appointed parish priest of the Blackwood Parish. This consisted of Gisborne, Bacchus Marsh and Ballan.*

In 1852 the Vicar General applied for a grant of 2 acres on the corner of Aitken and Fishers Strets to be reserved for a church and school. Michael Brady, a local timer merchant assisted in raising the funds and also providing accommodation in his own home to visiting Priests. The first church building cost 300.00 and was most probably the weatherboard building opened as a school in 1858.*

In 1875 the current brick Church was built and when completed was opened on 2 February 1875 by Archbishop Gould. The church cost was 2150.00.*

The Foundation stone was laid on 30 November 1873 by the Right Reverend Dr James Goold D.D. Archbishop of Melbourne. The Architect was Mr Kelly. Construction of the church was given to Mr Grant of Kyneton. The nave was to be 62 feet x 28 feet, the chancel 18 feet x 18 feet and the scarcity 18 feet x 12 feet. A tower was to be built afterwards on the north east angle.*

The dedication service took place on 30 January 1875.*

In 1893 extensive renovations were carried that required the church to close. Architects Kempson, Connelly and Oldham drew the plans for alterations to the roof, tuck pointed brickwork and tie rods to support and strengthen the roof. Further renovations were carried out in 1911.*


This list may not contain every serving cleric, past or present, for this church.
Further submissions welcomed.

Years Name Annotation D.o.B D.o.D
1852 - 1855 Father Holohan
1855 - Father Madden
1871 - 1881 Father Timothy J. O'Callaghan 1881
1881 - 1884 Father Maurice Carroll
1884 - 1885 Father James Carroll
1885 - 1886 Father P. Moran 1889
1885 - 1886 Father John J. Gallivan 1929
1906 - Father Peter Boyle
1911 - 1916 Father Patrick J. Fallon 1917
1911 - 1916 Father O'Brian
1917 - 1947 Father F. M.J. Gibons
1947 - 1956 Father Edward Nowlan 1990
1956 - 1959 Father T. Elliott
1959 - 1970 Father J. R. Griffin
1970 - 1979 Father G. Loughnan
1979 - 1992 Father B. Tobin
1992 - 2000 Father Oliver
2000 - Father G. Spillane
2020 - Father Vinoth Santiago


No information currently available. Submissions welcomed.


Parish Priests and Pioneers, a History of St Bridgid's Parish Gisborne. Leo Duggan. St Bridgid's Parish Gisborne 125 years. LTP 264.02036S22S