Inverell, NSW - Uniting
Year Built: 1903
Previous Denomination: Methodist
Traditional Owners: Kamilaroi people
Last Updated: 16/04/2023
History and Architecture:
A Foundation stone reads, " This stone was laid by John McCrea Esq 1903".
This list may not contain every serving cleric, past or present, for this church.
Further submissions welcomed.
|1906 - 1908||Rev W. J. Walker||M|
|1908 - 1910||Rev W. M. Atkinson||M|
|1910 - 1913||Rev W. M. Hall||M|
|1913 - 1916||Rev J. S. Thomas||M|
|1916 - 1920||Rev Arthur W. Parton||M|
|1920 - 1922||Rev J. Egan Moulton||M|
|1923 - 1924||Rev W. Stewart||Locum|
|1922 - 1924||Rev H. T. Williams||M|
|1924 - 1928||Rev G. S. Udy||M||1886||1959|
|1928 - 1931||Rev S. Arthur Pill||M||1885||1949|
|1931 - 1934||Rev William H. D. Butler||M|
|1934 - 1938||Rev Arthur J. Keeling||M||1894||1985|
|1945 - 1949||Rev Philip H. Bolte||M|
|1949 - 1953||Rev John F. Hayes||M||1900||1965|
|1954 - 1960||Rev William G. Hardie||M||1901||1963|
|1960 -||Rev Kenyon J. McSkimming||M|
|1974 - 1980||Rev K. B. Annesley||U|
|1981 - 1982||Rev J. A. Skyes||U|
|1983 - 1984||Rev D. E. Miller||U|
|1983 - 1993||Rev John S. Scott||U|
|1985 -||Rev R. McDonald||U Locum|
The organ was built by Whitehouse Brothers in 1927-29 at a cost of £1,300.2 It was erected in memory of Richard Wearne Nicholas (1845-1926), a Lay Preacher and Trustee of the church. It has 2 manuals, 15 speaking stops, tubular-pneumatic action. It was electrified in 1957 by Whitehouse Brohers of Brisbane. 2 manuals, 15 speaking stops, electro-pneumatic action.
For a full description click here.
1. Methodist Church of Australasia Ministerial Index.
2. Gems for his Kingdom, an amazing journey of Methodism and the Uniting Church, Celebrating the 100th Anniversary.
3. Ryerson Index.
4. Organ Historical Trust of Australia with permission.