Meningie, SA - St Luke's Lutheran

Year Built: 1958

Denomination: Lutheran

Saint: Luke

Address: West Terrace, Meningie, South Australia, 5264

Architect: Unknown

Last Updated: 26/04/2024

See Street View

Send your photos

Click on the image to view larger

History and Architecture:

Lutheran services in the area go back to 1931 when Pastor T.G. Obst held services in a private home in Narrung. Services were also held in Wood Well. By the 1950's services were held in the Anglican church by Pastor Leo Doecke. On 5 May 1957 it was decided at a meeting to form a separate ELCA congregation from that of the Tailem Bend congregation.

In 1958 it was decided to tender for the former Methodist church on the Princes Highway. The tender of 650.00 was accepted. On 22 February 1959 the church was dedicated.

The Foundation stone was laid on 26 February 1984 by Pastor C.I. Koch. By 1987 the wooden floor needed to be replaced due to wood rot. A cement floor was laid in the following year.

In 1974 refurbishments were needed and by the following year an organ had been installed however by 1978 a new home was needed. The Welk building at the end of West Terrace was purchased. Originally a fish factory a local Architect student, James Riddell accepted the challenge to design a new church within the confines of the present building. By 1983 his plans were accepted and local contractors Wyatt Constructions were the builders. With an Organ loft fitted and four separate internal rooms the church could see 200.


This list may not contain every serving cleric, past or present, for this church.
Further submissions welcomed.

Years Name Annotation D.o.B D.o.D
1934 - 1936 Pastor Alwin Rudolf Schirmer ELSA 1907 1945
1936 - 1943 Pastor Theodor Christoph Backen ELSA 1892 1969
1944 - 1955 Pastor R. O. Schumacher ELSA
1955 - 1960 Pastor Walter John Hoopmann ELSA 1918 2009
1960 - 1966 Pastor M. D. Rudolph UELCA
1967 - 1969 Pastor Thomas Theodore Reuther LCA
1969 - 1974 Pastor John Kenneth Wilksch LCA 1945 2021
1974 - 1980 Pastor Ian Elmo Kleinig LCA 1925 1999
1981 - 1987 Pastor Brian Charles Tscharke LCA
1988 - 1993 Pastor Norman Walter Wurst LCA
1994 - 1996 Pastor Robert Melvin Hupfield LCA
1996 - 2009 Pastor Terry Rex Natt LCA 1949 2018
2010 - 2012 Pastor E. Braunack Mayer LCA
2013 - 2017 Pastor Kees C. Sturm LCA
2018 - Pastor Peter D. Heintze LCA
2018 - 2022 Pastor Daniel J. Rooney LCA
2018 - Pastor Anthony F. Traeger LCA


No information currently available. Submissions welcomed.


1. Lutheran Archives with permission.