Natimuk, VIC - St Paul's Lutheran

Year Built: 1963

Denomination: Lutheran

Saint: Paul

Address: Main Street, Natimuk, Victoria, 3409

Architect: Eric von Schramek

Traditional Owners: Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung & Bunurong Boon Wurrung people

Last Updated: 27/04/2024

See Street View

Send your photos

Click on the image to view larger

History and Architecture:

The parish was, from 1874 until 1904, under the spiritual care of Pastor Schoknecht. The present pastor, J. F. Noack, was installed in September, 1905. In the course of the following years the Natimuk pastor opened a preaching place at Horsham, and organized a congregation there.

Pastor Schurmann held the first services here in the home of the Brethren H. Schmidt and J. E. Boehm. As soon as the members had definite prospects of obtaining a resident pastor, they immediately set to work to build a place of worship. A weatherboard structure was soon erected, and was ready for dedication upon arrival of Pastor Schoknecht. The pastor preached his inaugural sermon on Easter Sunday, 1874, and in the same ,service dedicated the newly-built church.

In 1880 the congregation rebuilt and enlarged the church, and in 1887 opened a Church school. Mr. J. S. Molkentin was the teacher put in charge of this school.

The first church was built in 1872 behind the present day church. Todays church was dedicated on 24 March 1963.The foundation stone was laid on 14 October 1962.The bell that calls members to worship now is the same bell from the belfry of the first church.


This list may not contain every serving cleric, past or present, for this church.
Further submissions welcomed.

Years Name Annotation D.o.B D.o.D
1891 - 1899 Pastor L Kaibel UELCA
1900 - 1902 Pastor S. Lehner UELCA
1902 - 1922 Pastor J. P. Loehe UELCA
1923 - 1929 Pastor G. Dohler UELCA
1929 - 1938 Pastor W. W. Fritsch UELCA
1938 - 1958 Pastor E. W. Fischer UELCA
1948 - 1960 Pastor J. L. Boehm UELCA
1960 - 1966 Pastor L. V. John UELCA
1966 - 1969 Pastor H. C. Mattiske UELCA & LCA
1970 - 1974 Pastor G. D. Noller LCA
1975 - 1980 Pastor R. M. Mickan LCA
1980 - 1988 Pastor J. A. Paech LCA
1989 - 1993 Pastor T. W. Kowald LCA
1994 - 2000 Pastor B. T. Kuchel LCA
2000 - 2004 Pastor G. N. Zweck LCA
2004 - 2011 Pastor W. J. Fry LCA
2012 - 2016 Pastor S. P. McMaughan LCA
2018 - Pastor L. D. Graham LCA


No information currently available. Submissions welcomed.


1. Simon Saunders for ref to Architect.


1. The Lutheran Church in Natimuk 100 years of Blessing. LTP 284.19458
2. Jubilee of the Lutheran Church in the Wimmera District 1874 - 1924
3. ‘Reminiscences: Eric von Schramek and his churches’, Compiled by Helen Gordon, FOLA Inc. ISBN 9780958025751
4. Lutheran Archives with permission.