Nundah, QLD - St Paul's Lutheran

Year Built: 1948

Denomination: Lutheran

Saint: Paul

Address: 66 Buckland Road, Nundah, Queensland, 4012

Architect: Unknown

Traditional Owners: Turrbal people

Last Updated: 29/04/2024

See Street View

Send your photos

Click on the image to view larger (2 photos)

History and Architecture:

The church erected in 1866 was replaced by a new church constructed and dedicated in June 1883. (The roof structure of this church has been embodied in the present day St. Paul's church). Plans were drawn up for the building of a church measuring 40 feet by 25 feet. It was built by F. Gentner, and without lining cost 155. The lining and gallery were added in 1905 at the cost of 42. The church was opened and dedicated to God by Pastors Langebeeker and Haussmann on May 12, 1895.

A Foundation stone reads, St Paul's Lutheran Church This Foundation stone was laid by Pastor M. Lohe Pres QD U.E.L.C.A. on 15th Feb 1948. O.H. Adler Pastor.

A plaque reads "In grateful remembrance of those who bequeathed their church in their last will and testament and to whose memory this tower is dedicated Pauline Perschbacher. August Vellnagel Gustav Gudopp  Carl Ashauer Hermann Blinzinger Henry W Gottschalk. O give thanks to the Lord for he is good: his steadfast love endures for ever Psalm 118:1.

A plaque reads, "This commemorates the 150th anniversary of St Pauls Lutheran Church, Nundah and the 175th anniversary of the arrival of the Gossner missionaries. The churches one foundation is Jesus Christ the Lord. Unveiled 16 June 2013 by Her Excellency Ms Penelope Wensley AC Governor of Queensland Revd Noel H Noack Bishop Lutheran Church of Australia. Queensland District Revd Joshua Pfeiffer Pastor St Pauls Lutheran Church Nundah.


This list may not contain every serving cleric, past or present, for this church.
Further submissions welcomed.

Years Name Annotation D.o.B D.o.D
1877 - Pastor Ernst Ottos Maier UELCA
1894 - 1924 Pastor Theodore Immanuel Egan UELCA 1846 1932
1901 - 1923 Pastor Peter Bonifacius Hoefner UELCA 1856 1924
1923 - Pastor Frederich Otto Theile Locum 1880 1945
1925 - 1950 Pastor Otto Herman Adler UELCA 1899 1967
1951 - 1955 Pastor Norman Carl Keller UELCA 1915 2001
1950 - 1951 Pastor Dudley James Liebelt UELCA 1926 2016
1955 - 1960 Pastor Ronald Walter Gerhardy UELCA 1927 1997
1960 - 1961 Pastor Theodor Roland Nitschke UELCA
1961 - 1967 Pastor Kevin John Schmidt UELCA & LCA 1932 2018
1968 - 1981 Pastor Herbert Paul Vincent Renner LCA 1927 2022
1970 - 1978 Pastor F. A.W. Schoettler LCA
1981 - 2002 Pastor David John Larsen LCA
2003 - 2010 Pastor Keith William Stiller LCA
2011 - 2015 Pastor Joshua L. Pfeiffer LCA
2016 - Pastor Mark Nitschke LCA


No information currently available. Submissions welcomed.


1. Church website. For full history click here.
2. Lutherna Archives with permission.