Oatlands, TAS - St Paul's Catholic

Year Built: 1850

Denomination: Roman Catholic

Saint: Paul

Address: Gay Street, Oatlands, Tasmania, 7120

Architect: Augustus Pugin

Last Updated: 04/12/2022

Send your photos

Click on the image to view larger (2 photos)

History and Architecture:

The Foundation stone was laid on 9th April 1850. The Church was designed in 1843 by Augustus Welby Northmore Pugin England's greatest Early Victorian architect and designer who was a close friend of the first Bishop of Hobart Town Robert William Wilson.

The Church was opened by Bishop Wilson on 26 February 1851.

Father James Ryan, extensively altered the old Pugin-designed presbytery. The work was completed by his successor Father Denis Murphy. Father James Barry and Father Richard Scafi, served 'pro tern' at Oatlands prior to Father Murphy's appointment. Father Murphy also renovated the church during the 1930's. He relocated the choir area and re-floored the building over Father Keohan's grave and send the road screen to Hobart for French polishing.


This list may not contain every serving cleric, past or present, for this church.
Further submissions welcomed.

Years Name Annotation D.o.B D.o.D
1823 - 1876 Father Martin Keohan 1876
1876 - Father Julian Tennison Woods
1877 - Father John Feehan 1912
1912 - Father James Ryan
- Father John Griffin
- Father Robert Kennedy 1986
- Father Joseph Halpin 1965
- Father Liam Floyd 2020
- Father Patrick McAnany 2014
1949 - Father Lynch
2020 - Father Anthony Onyirioha


No information currently available. Submissions welcomed.


1. Priceless Heritage W.T. Southerwood