Shepparton, VIC - St Augustine's Anglican

Year Built: 1926

Denomination: Anglican

Saint: Augustine

Address: 95 Maude Street, Shepparton, Victoria, 3630

Architect: Louis R Williams

Traditional Owners: Yorta Yorta people

Last Updated: 12/05/2023

See Street View

Send your photos

Click on the image to view larger (4 photos)

History and Architecture:

The first Anglican service in Shepparton was conducted by Archdeacon Tucker in 1875 in Mr. A. F. Rowe's dining room at his premises situated near the banks of the Goulburn adjacent to the old Port of Shepparton. Canon W. L C. Howard of Beechworth had the oversight of the Shepparton Districts until 1879. In the previous year, Mr J.D. Dawborn was made Reader at Shepparton and ordained deacon in 1880 for the Parochial District of Shepparton. He became the first resident priest the following year and opened the first Saint Augustine's Church in 1882.

The first church of Saint Augustine was a substantial brick building situated on a site in Maude Street, much further south than the present Saint Augustine's. A plaque today commemorates the site outside Muntz Chemist Shop in Maude Street near the corner of Fraser Street.

One and a half acres of land were purchased in June, 1922 at the corner of McKinney and Maude Streets for the sum of £2,500. This was to be the site of the new church.

The foundation stone of the new Saint Augustine's was laid on the 6th October, 1926. The new church, designed by Mr. Louis Williams and built by Messrs. A. E. Orme and W. Montgomery, was dedicated at a ceremony conducted by Archdeacon Carter, Rector of Shepparton. Bishop Thomas Armstrong preached and blessed the new building on the 4th April, 1927.


These names are now in the Database and can be searched individually.

Years Name Annotation D.o.B D.o.D
1940 - 1940 Rev Wilfred Stanley Dau Rural Dean 1895 1969
1953 - 1956 Rev Ernest Roy Walkerden 1926
1959 - Rev Colin Joseph Coish
1964 - 1965 Rev L. H. Allott
1964 - 1965 Rev James Alenson Greenshields Asst C 1933
1965 - 1966 Rev William Joseph Squire Asst P
1972 - 1977 Rev Arthur Stanley Goldsworthy Adn/R 1926
1972 - 1977 Rev William Joseph Squire Asst P
1975 - 1976 Rev David Maxwell Hollaway 1945
1975 - 1976 Rev R Kelly Asst
1977 - 1991 Rev Donald William Gibson 1930
1977 - 1978 Rev Peter Julian William White
1978 - 1979 Rev Christopher Cariston Seton
1978 - 1980 Rev M J.D. Bowers Asst
1985 - Rev Bruce Raymond Hancock Asst C 1944
1989 - 1991 Rev R. J. Munson Asst
1992 - Rev Gail Desma Bryce Asst 1945
1992 - 1994 Rev Sandra Salmon Asst C
1993 - 1997 Rev D. D. McMillan
1996 - 1997 Rev Simon Peter Coward Asst 1964
1997 - 1998 REv John William Gumbley Asst
1999 - Rev Peter H Kissick Asst
2010 - Canon Andrew Neaum
2019 ? - Rev Jerome Francis


Built by Forster & Andrews of Hull, 1853, 2 manuals, 13 speaking stops, mechanical action Installed 1853 Athenaeum Hall, Melbourne. Installed 1855 in St Mark's Anglican Church, Fitzroy. Installed 1877 Methodist Church, Richmond Rebuilt and installed in previous St Augustine's Church 1888 George Fincham, Melbourne. Installed in present church, 1927 2 manuals, 11 speaking stops, mechanical action Broken up 1964.
For a full history click here.



1. Cable Clergy Index with permission.
2. Parish Churches Diocese of Wangaratta
3. Organ Historical Trust of Australia with permission.