Explanatory Notes

The following are a guide to references used to explain which denomination a particular Clergy served under.

Methodist Church

On 1 January 1902, five Methodist denominations in Australia – the Wesleyan Methodist Church, the Primitive Methodists, the Bible Christian Church, the United Methodist Free and the Methodist New Connexion Churches came together to found a new church.

Uniting Church formation

The Uniting Church in Australia (UCA) was formed on 22 June 1977 when many congregations of the Methodist Church of Australasia, the Presbyterian Church of Australia and the Congregational Union of Australia came together.

Lutheran Church (LCA)

The various Synods (i.e. United Evangelical, Immanuel and United) combine in 1966 to form the Lutheran Church of Australia, LCA.


Anglican    A
Methodist    M
Primitive Methodists PM
Presbyterian    P
Congregational    C
Lutheran Bethlehem   B
Lutheran Evangelical   ELSA    (Rev Fritzsche)
Lutheran Immanuel    I          (Rev Kavel)
Lutheran Churches Australia   LCA
Lutheran United Evangelical   UELCA
Lutheran Evangelical                 ELCA   (formerly ELSA)
Lutheran Evangelical of Reformations   ELCR
Lutheran Bethany Lobethal Synod 1846 - 1855 à E
Lutheran Independent German 1838 à present
Lutheran Victorian (or General) Synod 1856 - 1921  VS
Uniting    U
Wesleyan Methodist    WM