Adelaide, SA - St John the Evangelist Anglican (30052)

Year Built: 1839

Denomination: Anglican

Saint: John

Address: 14 St John Street, Adelaide, South Australia, 5000

Traditional Owners: Kaurna people

Architect: R. Garlick Holwell

Last Updated: 04/07/2022

See Street View

Send your photos

Click on the image to view larger

History and Architecture:

The land on which the church is built was donated by Osmond Gillies to the Church of England. The Foundation stone was laid on 19 October 1839 by Lieutenant Colonel George Gawler, Governor of the Province. The church was opened on Sunday, 24th October, 1841 by the Rev C.B. Howard assisted by the Rev Jas. Farrell.

In 1886 the original church was condemned by the City Surveyor.

Plans for a new church were prepared by the architect R G Holwell. William Rogers who was a notable builder in Adelaide built the Church. The walls were constructed of sandstone rubble and are unusually tuck-pointed. The tower which still dominates the residential area integrates well with the rest of the church and its angled buttresses are noteworthy. The Bishop of Adelaide laid the Foundation Stone on May 14 1887 and on October 6th of the same year consecrated the building.


This list may not contain every serving cleric, past or present, for this church.
Further submissions welcomed.

Years Name Annotation D.o.B D.o.D
1841 - 1861 Rev James Farrell 1803
1861 - 1884 Rev D J.H. Ibbetson
1884 - Rev F Slaney-Poole
1895 - Rev W. S Hopcraft
1918 - Rev H P Finniss
1945 - Rev E. J. Cooper
1978 - 1980 Rev Neville Allan Connell 1938
2019 - Rev Stephen Bloor


In 1848 a new organ costing 300 was installed. A new organ was built in 1902 by James Dodd at a cost of 800. It was substantially rebuilt in 1996 by George Stephens.