Adelaide, SA - St Luke's Anglican

Year Built: 1855

Denomination: Anglican

Saint: Luke

Address: 21 Whitmore Square, Adelaide, South Australia, 5000

Architect: Edmund W Wright

Traditional Owners: Kaurna people

Last Updated: 16/07/2022

See Street View

Send your photos

Click on the image to view larger

History and Architecture:

The Church is one of the most significant in Adelaide. The first part of it was built in 1855. It remains one of the earliest Anglican Churches in Adelaide.

Divine Service appears to have been first conducted in a Schoolroom in Hobson's Place, between Sturt and Wright Streets. In December, 181-)3, a meeting was held in Hole Trinity Schoolroom, presided over by Ir. Justice Cooper, when it was reported that a sum of 120 had been subscribed for the purpose of erecting a Church in the south-west portion of the City. *

A Grain store in Wright Street was made available until such time as the new Church was completed. It was suggested that the site of the Church should be nearer to the centre of the Cite, in either Wright or Gouger Streets, but eventually' it was decided to build on the Whitmore Square site, this land was given by the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign parts.*

In April, 1854, a meeting of the subscribers was held. At this meeting a letter was read from the Bishop, stating that owing to the price an iron Church would cost 1 - 2,000 (exclusive of expenses), he thought it inexpedient to purchase such a Church and advised against doing so. Special meetings were then held and it was decided to proceed with a stone one, and Mr E. Wright was appointed Architect.*

The Iron Church was condemned.

The Foundation stone was laid on September 11th, 1855 by the Governor. Amongst those present was the Bishop and Rev. J. Pollitt. The Church was consecrated on February 14th of 1856.

The Church was destroyed by fire in 1992 and re built.


This list may not contain every serving cleric, past or present, for this church.
Further submissions welcomed.

Years Name Annotation D.o.B D.o.D
1854 - Rev James Pollitt
1881 - 1884 Rev Frank Coghlan
1884 - 1896 Rev George Henry Farr 1819 1904
1896 - Rev William Gilbert Marsh 1841 1930
1912 - Rev D. J. Knox
1922 - Rev Charles William Rogers 1877 1966
1932 - 1939 Rev John Bruce Montgomerie 1893 1961
1939 - Rev Charles Williams Gumbley M.A. 1891 1971
1945 - Rev Edwin Douglas John Shaxted 1906 1987
1953 - Rev G. C. Bennett
1964 - Rev David John Binns 1939
1977 - 1980 Rev Reginald A. W. Haire
1980 - Rev David John Binns 1939
2010 - Rev Martin Woodforde


No information currently available. Submissions welcomed.


St Luke's Church Centenary Booklet 1855 to 1955