Bayswater, VIC - Our Lady of Lourdes Catholic

Year Built: 1977

Denomination: Roman Catholic

Address: 25 Orange Grove, Bayswater, Victoria, 3153

Architect: McCarthy and Collings

Traditional Owners: Wurundjeri people

Last Updated: 14/08/2023

See Street View

Send your photos

Click on the image to view larger

History and Architecture:

The first significant mention of Catholic activity in Bayswater was in 1917 when Fr. John O'Brien,3 second parish priest of the new Parish of St. John's, arrived on horseback to celebrate the first Mass in Bayswater at "The Grange"— the Scoresby Road home of Albert and Myrtle Piergrosse. Mass was held in their large hall-like dining room at the back of the house; and during those early years, it was not uncommon to see as many as two dozen or more people attending Mass at the Piergrosse home — that is, whenever a priest from Femtree Gully or Sacred Heart monastery, Croydon, was available.

By late 1946 or early 1947, the community acquired an old, wooden, seamen's mission but which they transported to the site. It was converted and transformed into the first Catholic church in Bayswater.

The land in Orange Grove was purchased around 1964.

On May 6th, 1976, construction commenced on the present church and presbytery. The architects were from the firm of McCarthy and Collings, and builders, R. Salzer Constructions. The presbytery was ready for occupation by 22nd of January, 1977. The first Mass was celebrated in the newly built church on the feast of Our Lady of Lourdes, 11th February, 1977.

A wall plaque reads, "This Plaque. Commemorates The Blessing and Opening of  Our Lady of Lourdes Church and Presbytery  by Most Reverend T. F. Little D.D., Archbishop of Melbourne on the Feast of the Annunciation of Our Lord 25 - 3 – 77. Parish Priest - Rev. J.T. Doyle. Architects: Carthy & Colllings Builder: R. Salzer Constructions".


This list may not contain every serving cleric, past or present, for this church.
Further submissions welcomed.

Years Name Annotation D.o.B D.o.D
1948 - Father Frank Harman
1968 - 2005 Father J. T. Doyle 2021
2006 - 2012 Father Arnold Heredia
2023 - Father Sabu Thomas Adimakiyil


No information currently available. Submissions welcomed.


1. Our Labour of Love A Faith History of Our Lady of Lourdes Parish Bayswater. LH 282.9451 ADRI