Campbell Town, TAS - St Michael's Catholic

Year Built: 1857

Denomination: Roman Catholic

Saint: Michael

Address: 4 King Street, Campbell Town, Tasmania, 7210

Architect: Henry Hunter

Last Updated: 09/12/2022

See Street View

Send your photos

Click on the image to view larger (3 photos)

History and Architecture:

Bishop Willson rode on horseback from Hobart to Campbell Town to lay the foundation stone of the church on June 25 1856. He was assisted by six priests, the pastor John Fitzgerald and Fathers Butler, Hogan, Bond, Dunne and Keohan. The land was secured in 1857 by Bishop Willson and was consecrated in September of that year.

The Architect was Henry Hunter.


This list may not contain every serving cleric, past or present, for this church.
Further submissions welcomed.

Years Name Annotation D.o.B D.o.D
1855 - 1862 Father John Fitzgerald
1862 - 1868 Father Michael O'Callaghan
1877 - 1888 Father Thomas Kelsh 1928
1894 - 1903 Father Martial Mary 1923
1962 - Father Thomas McDonald 1965
- Father Leo Kirkham 1985
- 1995 Father Hugh Shearer 1995


1. Priceless Heritage W.T. Southerwood