Cootamundra, NSW - Uniting

Year Built: 1899

Denomination: Uniting

Address: Cooper Street, Cootamundra, New South Wales, 2590

Previous Denomination: Presbyterian

Architect: J.D. Morrow

Architectural Style: Gothic Early English

Traditional Owners: Wiradjuri people

Last Updated: 22/02/2024

See Street View

Send your photos

Click on the image to view larger

History and Architecture:

The Foundation stone was laid by John Wilson McClintock on 10 June 1936.

In the 1932 Jubilee Souvenir booklet of the Presbyterian Church, mention was made that the present church building was inadequate for the needs of the growing congregation, and the Board of Management had under review various schemes for its enlargement.

The concept of a new church can be credited to the resourceful talents and foresight of the incumbent Minister, Rev Christopher Thomas Frow Goy (1930 – 36), who became aware that an old home, constructed of granite was available for demolition.

The church was to be 48 feet long by 28 feet in width, with a transcept on either side. The width of the church at the transcept end is 48 feet.

The building was to be of early English Gothic design; the architect for the project was F Purvis of Cootamundra and the successful tenderer for the construction was Frank Mitchell, a local builder and an elder of the Church.

The scheme for the new building commenced in reality when the Mackay family, who were early settlers in the Wallendbeen district, donated the material in their wonderful old home “Granite House”. Immediate steps were taken for the demolition of the old home and carting the stone to the site, on land procured from the Dickson estate.


This list may not contain every serving cleric, past or present, for this church.
Further submissions welcomed.

Years Name Annotation D.o.B D.o.D
1882 - 1882 Rev J. Dykes Paterson P
1883 - 1885 Rev Robert Inglis P
1885 - 1890 Rev D. W. Macfie P
1890 - 1912 Rev H. A. Huthinson P
1912 - 1914 Rev John Calder P
1915 - 1916 Rev J. A. Malcolmson P
1920 - 1925 Rev Edward Smyth P
1925 - 1926 Rev J. F. Anderson P
1926 - 1930 Rev W. L. Arnold P
1930 - 1937 Rev C. T.F. Coy P
1937 - 1941 Rev R. C. Russell P
1941 - 1945 Rev W. A. Loftus P
1945 - 1950 Rev Harold Perkins P
1951 - 1955 Rev N. M. Ward P
1956 - 1960 Rev R. O. Walder P
1961 - 1967 Rev D. F. Murray P
1967 - 1973 Rev R. A. Engel P
1974 - 1977 Rev A. E. Burtonshaw P
1977 - 1978 Rev G. A. George Locum
1978 - 1980 Rev Albert Harvey U
1981 - 1982 Mr David Barklay U
1983 - 1984 Rev R. J. Stark U
1985 - 1997 Rev J. P. Clements U
1999 - 2006 Rev F. J. Monkton U
2006 - Mr Matthew Mitchell U


  No other information currently available. Submissions welcomed.


1. Church website content via John Milnes


1. A Pictorial history of 125 years of the Presbyterian Church in Cootamundra and District. 1882 - 2007. Q285.29448/3