Cygnet, TAS - Uniting

Year Built: 1951

Denomination: Uniting

Address: 41 Mary Street, Cygnet, Tasmania, 7112

Previous Denomination: Methodist

Architect: Unknown

Traditional Owners: Melukerdee people

Last Updated: 22/07/2022

See Street View

Send your photos

Click on the image to view larger

History and Architecture:

Formerly a Methodist church the foundation stone was laid on 15 December 1951 by the Reverend A.W.R. Milligan Chairman of the Methodist Assembly Tasmania. It replaced a weatherboard building.

Overnight services were being conducted during 1864 and the need for a chapel was felt. A building was constructed during the 1870s. During 1902 the Port Cygnet Circuit had the Rev. Atkinson as its minister. In 1911 the circuit was reduced in status to a Home Mission Station but seven years later was reconstituted a circuit.

The Church must have been having a difficult time for in 1925 it was again reduced to a Home Mission Station and in 1949 was included in the new Huon Circuit.


This list may not contain every serving cleric, past or present, for this church.
Further submissions welcomed.

Years Name Annotation D.o.B D.o.D
1918 - 1920 Rev John W. Strickland M 1967
1931 - 1933 Rev Frank W. Hambly M
1933 - 1935 Rev Charles Cook M
1952 - 1953 Rev Basil D. Allen M
- 1953 Rev Joseph Richard Orton - more details M 1873 1953
1953 - 1955 Rev Edward M. Hunkn M


No information currently available. Submissions welcomed.


1. Tasmanian Methodism 1820 - 1975. 287.1946 TAS
2. Methodist Church of Australasia Ministerial Index