George Town, TAS - All Saints Anglican

Denomination: Anglican

Saint: All Saints

Address: 3 Anne Street, George Town, Tasmania, 7253

Architect: Unknown

Last Updated: 20/10/2022

See Street View

Send your photos

Click on the image to view larger

History and Architecture:

The Original church was Saint Mary Magdalene's. The present Anglican Church is believed to be the fourth one. A chapel was erected in 1832, and used by visiting clergy from Launceston. This was replaced in 1838, and in 1841 the first resident priest was appointed, who was the Revd. J. Walker.

Records of sacramental administrations go back to Father Walker's time. The 1838 the building was eventually demolished and replaced by a brick church with a spire. Nixon, licensed the church in 1856. However, this building, like many other brick buildings built in George Town at that time, did not last long, and was replaced. The foundation stone was laid in 1884. The church was consecrated in May 1886 by Bishop Sandford. The first christian divine service was held in George Town whe Governor Paterson landed in 1804. Lieut-Gov. Paterson wrote, As 1 was at a loss for a person to perform divine service, I have requested of Captain Kent to discharge.


This list may not contain every serving cleric, past or present, for this church.
Further submissions welcomed.

Years Name Annotation D.o.B D.o.D
1819 - 1824 Rev John Youl 1827
1841 - Rev J. Walker
1882 - 1886 Rev Joshua George Morling 1855 1906
1879 - Rev Alolphus Creswell Newstead 1888
1901 - 1905 Rev Alexander Wilhelm Schapira
1920 - 1923 Rev Albert Thompson 1885 1936
1923 - 1929 Rev Maxwell James Stephens Curate
1957 - 1959 Rev Hubert Price


No information currently available. Submissions welcomed.


1. The Anglican Church in Tasmania, A Diocesan history to mark the Sesquicentenary 1992 by Geoffrey Stephens
2. The Australian Anglican Directory 2000.