Marulan, NSW - All Saints' Anglican

Denomination: Anglican

Saint: All Saints

Address: 44 George Street, Marulan, New South Wales, 2579

Architect: Unknown

Traditional Owners: Gundungurra people

Last Updated: 26/02/2024

See Street View

Send your photos

Click on the image to view larger (2 photos)

History and Architecture:

A Historical noticeboard reads, " The foundation stone of the All Saints Church was laid on 21st March 1878. Mrs Thomas, wife of the Right Reverend Mesac Thomas, the Bishop of Goulburn at the time, chose the name. Below the foundation stone as laid a sealed bottle containing an 1878 Queen Victoria three penny coin, a copy of he Australian Churchman a piece of parchment on which was written the following. -This stone was laid by Mrs Thomas as the cornerstone of All Saints Marulan in the year of our lord 1878 and the forty first year of the reign of Her Majesty Queen Victoria, His Excellency Sir Hercules Robinson KCMG being the Governor of the Colony of New South Wales and Right Reverend Frederick Barker SS Metropolitan of Australia and Tasmania, the, Right Reverend Mesac Thomas DD Bishop of this Diocese of Goulburn an Mooroowoolen, the Rev Canon Soares architect and Mr Richard Chapman donor of the site, Messrs John Morrice, Thomas Brennan and George Simpson Church wardens. Signed W. May.'

A small plaque on the Church wall reads, ' Commemorating 100 years of continuous worship at All Saints Church Marulan October 29th 1978".


This list may not contain every serving cleric, past or present, for this church.
Further submissions welcomed.

Years Name Annotation D.o.B D.o.D
1880 - 1882 Rev J. Linton Taylor
1882 - 1883 Rev T. Watson
1883 - 1884 Rev C. L. Handcock
1884 - 1894 Rev A. C. Mosely
1894 - 1902 Rev Augustus Rutherford Shaw 1860 1936
1902 - 1904 Rev Frederick William McDonnell 1865 1923
1904 - 1905 Rev Edward. Lyon Timewell 1868 1905
1905 - 1906 Rev F. J. Spencer
1906 - 1914 Rev F. Richmond
1914 - 1922 Canon R. J.S. Edwards
1922 - 1924 Rev T. B. Tress
1924 - 1933 Rev G. E. Morris
1933 - 1935 Rev A. E. James
1935 - 1954 Rev H. F. Hawkins
1954 - 1956 Rev D. J. Ross
1956 - 1969 Rev J. Rose
1969 - 1971 Rev W. E. Wright
1971 - 1975 Rev J. D. Clarke
1975 - 1976 Rev D. Rien
1976 - Rev M. Ledl


No information currently available. Submissions welcomed.



1. Marulan A Unique Heritage by Maureen Eddy.
2. Cable Clerical Index.
3. Historical Board on Church grounds