Moonah, TAS - St Theresa Catholic

Year Built: 1954

Denomination: Roman Catholic

Saint: Theresa

Address: 24 Hopkins Street, Moonah, Tasmania, 7009

Architect: Unknown

Traditional Owners: Palawa people

Last Updated: 22/07/2022

See Street View

Send your photos

Click on the image to view larger

History and Architecture:

The area, New Town to Bridgewater was part of St. Mary's Cathedral Parish until Archbishop W. Hayden made Moonah a parish in 1931. Catholicsformerly went to Mass in those times, either to Sacred Heart Church, New Town (built in 1880), or to old St. John the Baptist Church, Main Road, Glenorchy, which was blessed and opened by Bishop Willson on 3rd March, 1859.

The foundation stone for a new Church-School was laid by Very Rev. Father Denis Murphy on the Feast of Christ the King, 25th October, 1931. A bank loan (as already noted) had been obtained; Fr. O'Donnell always maintained that this was in answer to a Novena in honour of St. Therese. The people present at the ceremony donated £451.

The Missionaries of the Sacred Heart came to Moonah in June 1932, at the initiative of the then Parish Priest Fr T. J. O’Donnell, with Fr T. O’Loughlin MSC (Parish Priest) and Fr R. Dando MSC (Assistant Priest).

The Convent was built under the direction of Fr T. O’Loughlin MSC for the Sisters of St Joseph and was blessed and opened on 5th May 1935, at a cost of £4,000. The Convent was named St Joseph’s Convent.

The present church was blessed and opened by Archbishop E. V. Tweedy on 21st February 1954, with the cost of the building being £24,000 and was built by J Dunne and E Dorney Architect.


This list may not contain every serving cleric, past or present, for this church.
Further submissions welcomed.

Years Name Annotation D.o.B D.o.D
1931 - Father T. J. O'Donnell 1949
- 1939 Father O'Loughlin
1939 - 1948 Father Harold Bridgewood
1939 - Father R. Hyland Asst 1966
1939 - Father A. Bryson Asst 1982
1939 - Father J. Tierney Asst 1978
1939 - Father R. Lopez Asst 1955
1948 - 1954 Father Paul Fleming
1954 - 1959 Father Aloysius English 1997
1955 - 1959 Father Patrick McGuane Asst 1996
1956 - 1960 Father C. Troy Asst
1956 - 1960 Father J. Eldridge Asst
1959 - 1965 Father William Clune
1965 - 1969 Father Cox
1969 - 1970 Father William Clune
1970 - 1975 Father Vincent Dwyer
1975 - 1980 Father Bede North
1982 - 1986 Father Ed Travers approx dates
1986 - 1989 Father Michael Morwood
1990 - 1991 Father Bill Welsh
1991 - 1994 Father Patrick O'Carrigan
2020 - Father Krish Mathavan


No information currently available. Submissions welcomed.


1. St Theresa's Parish Moonah Tasmania Souvenir Booklet Golden Jubilee 1931 - 1981. 282.094761 ELD
2. Church Website.
3. Priceless Heritage W.T. Southerwood