Morialta, SA - Uniting

Year Built: 1875

Denomination: Uniting

Address: 26 Chapel Street, Morialta, South Australia,

Previous Denomination: Methodist

Architect: Daniel Garlick

Last Updated: 04/01/2023

See Street View

Send your photos

Click on the image to view larger

History and Architecture:

Formerly a Methodist Church the first church was completed in 1855.

Land was purchased on 30th May 1854 in order to build a church at Magill and the foundation stone was laid on 8th April 1855.

In 1874 a decision was made to build a new church, which is the nave of the present church. The first services in the new church were conducted on Sunday 17th October 1875.

The Church was opened on April 8, 1855. A week later a Sunday-school was inaugurated. The Church formed part of the Adelaide circiut which stretched as far south as Willunga and as far east as Nairne, while the head quarters of the circuit were in Gawler place.

When the church was opened however, it was in the Pirie-street circiut and the presiding ministers were the Rev Thomas Williams and John Dare. 1n the following year they were succeeded by Revs. W. Ingram and Rev J. Harcourt, who in turn, three years later, handed over the circuit to the Revs. W. Butters a Thomas Lloyd.


These names are now in the Database and can be searched individually.

Years Name Annotation D.o.B D.o.D
1883 - Rev G. W. Kendrew WM Student
1884 - Rev J. C. Hill WM Student
1885 - Rev W. A. Potts WM Student
1887 - Rev B. G. Edwards WM
1881 - 1891 Rev W. A. Langsford WM
1891 - 1894 Rev V. Roberts WM
1894 - 1895 Rev J. Hopkins WM
1895 - 1896 Rev C. T. Newman WM
1897 - 1915 Rev Charles Lane WM part time
1916 - 1920 Rev A. A. Smith M
1920 - 1922 Rev H. Trewren M
1922 - 1924 Rev A. H. Melbourne M
1924 - 1929 Rev E. A. Pederick M
1929 - 1932 Rev A. D. McCutcheon M
1932 - 1935 Rev E. T. Pryor M
1935 - 1940 Rev J. Gilding M
1940 - 1945 Rev A. M. Davis M
1945 - 1947 Rev H. P. Lambert M
1947 - 1952 Rev D. E. Dickson M
1952 - 1959 Rev A. R. Medson M
1959 - 1962 Rev G. B. Stribley M
1963 - 1968 Rev A. H.M. Ellison M
1969 - 1973 Rev W. J. Stafford M
1973 - 1982 Rev R. G. Davis M / U
1983 - 1991 Rev D. Howland U
2022 - Rev Bob Hutchinson U


No information currently available. Submissions welcomed.


1. SA Uniting Church Historical Society. Magil Methodist Uniting Church 1855 - 1990.