South Geelong, VIC - Uniting

Year Built: 1842

Denomination: Uniting

Address: Corner Moorabool & Balliang Streets, South Geelong, Victoria, 3220

Previous Denomination: Methodist

Architect: Unknown

Traditional Owners: Wadawurrung people

Last Updated: 06/02/2022

See Street View

Send your photos

Click on the image to view larger

History and Architecture:

The first Methodist services in South Geelong were held in 1842 in a private home, and by 1847 had been transferred to a large unclaimed house. In 1854, the first dedicated building was constructed as a church/school at a cost of £1,475. The foundation stone of the brick building was laid on the 14!h June 1854 by the Rev. William Butters. The opening took place on the 29th of October 1854 when divine worship took place in the school for the first time.

A deed of grant was issued in 1861 and extensions to the church/school were undertaken the same year. The congregation outgrew this building once more and in 1868, tenders were called for a bluestone and white Batesford limestone church, which was to be situated on the Moorabool Street frontage of the Reserve.

The foundation stone was laid on the 27th November 1868 by the Rev. M. Burnett, and the church, which eventually cost £1,000 to build, was formally opened on the 27h June 1869. The old church building was used as a Sunday school, however, in 1879, the Sunday School closed. The parsonage was built in 1883. Two transepts were added to the original school house in 1896. In 1965, the spire was lowered and in 1967 the parsonage was demolished. The bricks were used in the Principle's residence at Geelong College, Newtown. In 1977, the spire was replaced and the Church became the South Geelong Uniting Church. The Church was opened on 27 June 1869.

The Church was closed in 2014.


This list may not contain every serving cleric, past or present, for this church.
Further submissions welcomed.

Years Name Annotation D.o.B D.o.D
1848 - Rev F. Tuckfield M 1808 1865
- Rev F. Lewis M
- Rev Isaac Harding M 1815 1897
- Rev W. Hilt M
- Rev Joseph Dare M 1831 1880
- Rev William L. Binks M 1819 1890
- Rev W. P. Wells M
- Rev James Bickford M 1816 1895
- Rev John Cope M 1825 1909
- Rev E. I Watkin M
- Rev John Eggleston M 1813 1879
- Rev John G. Millard M 1827 1897
- Rev Henry Bath M 1839 1916
- Rev J. C. Macdougall M
- Rev J. deQ. Robin M
- Rev Robert Philp M 1850 1926
- Rev A. McCallum M
- Rev Jonathan McCann M 1855 1914
- Rev John Nall M 1858 1935
- Rev Joseph Nicholson M 1845 1921


No information currently available. Submissions welcomed.