Toowong, QLD - St Thomas' Anglican

Denomination: Anglican

Saint: Thomas

Address: Corner Jephson & High Streets, Toowong, Queensland, 4066

Architect: Unknown

Traditional Owners: Turrbal people

Last Updated: 24/04/2023

See Street View

Send your photos

Click on the image to view larger (4 photos)

History and Architecture:

The Foundation stone was laid on 17 February 1877 by Mathew Blagden Hale Bishop of Brisbane. The rebuilding of the Bell Tower and replacement of the cross in 1986 was funded by the Parish with assistance from the Federal Government as a Bicentenial Project.

A Diamond Jubilee Service was held on 28 September 1930. The offerings were for the debt and for the completion of the church building. The final Jubilee service was held on Sunday 4 October 1930.

A Foundation stone reads, "The foundation stone this Church of St Thomas The Apostle was laid 17th February 1877 by Matthew Blagden Hale Bishop of Brisbane Benjamin Glennie, Rector".

A plaque reads "This trowel was presented to The Right Revd Bishop Hale at the laying of the foundation stone  St Thomas Church Toowong 17th Feb 1877".

A plaque reads, "This Church of the Holy Spirit was dedicated on November 21st 1959 by + Reginald Archbishop of Brisbane A E Loxton, Rector".

A final plaque reads, "St Thomas' Church The rebuilding of the bell tower and replacement of the cross in 1986 was funded by the Parish with assistance from the Federal Government as a Bicentennial Project Neville Thulborn, Rector".



This list may not contain every serving cleric, past or present, for this church.
Further submissions welcomed.

Years Name Annotation D.o.B D.o.D
1855 - 1870 Rev Thomas Jones
1870 - 1874 Rev Robert Creyke
1876 - 1877 Rev Benjamin Glennie
1877 - 1878 Rev Robert Close
1878 - 1881 Rev Robert Creyke
1881 - 1888 Rev Charles William
1888 - 1890 Rev Edward Lister Salsbury
1890 - 1896 Rev Vinoy Robson Handyside
1896 - 1902 Rev George Horsfall Frodsham
1902 - 1907 Rev John Brodie Armstrong 1858 1937
1908 - 1913 Rev Percy Pleydell Nott
1913 - 1919 Rev Walter Scott
1919 - 1925 Canon Norman Osborn
1925 - 1929 Canon John Alfred Cue
1929 - 1935 Rev Herbert Douglas Campbell
1935 - 1947 Rev Samuel Atherton
1947 - 1965 Rev Canon Albert Loxton
1966 - 1975 Archdeacon Walter Bryan Ward
1975 - 1982 Rev W.J. Munro Warner
1982 - 1989 Rev Neville Thurborn
1989 - 2001 Rev Colin Cussen
2001 - 2008 Rev Canon Dr Marian Free
2008 - 2009 Rev Paul Dunn
2009 - Rev Thomas Edward Sullivan


The Organ was built by B.B Whitehouse in 1886 for the Queensland Piano, Organ and Music Warehouse Company of Brisbane. Installed in present location in 1888 by F. Waldron of Brisbane. It had 1 manual, 7 speaking stops, mechanical action. Tubular-pneumatic action to pedals in 1948 by Whitehouse Brothers of Brisbane. Rebuilt & enlarged in 1963 by H.W. Jarrott of Brisbane. It has 2 manuals, 11 speaking stops, electric action. Alterations in 2019by  Doug Milne and Graham Hyde, Brisbane
For a full description and photos click here.



1. Photos and list of clergy donated by John Huth